Review of process

So far I have been placing single jpg images of the pages of my late parents’ photo albums on the blog and then scanning the individual images in to show the world. But I am not sure this is the best way to go about things as it will take too long. For example, the first album, of which there are 14, contains 438 photos and so would take well over a year to show. This the whole project might well take over a decade just to show the images let alone consider and curate them.

I then posted a gif of Album 1 and this seemed to offer viewers a flavour of the album. I also began to select and show some of the images rather than all, and put a little more context into them. This seems better as the two types of post offer summaries and narratives that can stand by themselves. It has also helped my ideas about curation. For example, I would create summaries around individuals as well as types of image.

So this is how I will proceed for now. I will make gifs of the whole albums, then select individual images to share and talk about, and then begin curating some of the images. The first activity should take long but the latter two should keep me going for a while.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Administration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of process

  1. Catherine says:

    I like those ideas, particularly weaving stories around the photographs.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

